Message of Support for the LGBTQ2S+ Community

In light of the anti-trans and anti-LGBTQ2S+ demonstrations taking place in Toronto and across North America today, Toronto Film School and Yorkville University understand that members of our own community – including staff, faculty, and students – may be impacted. TFS and YU reaffirm our dedication to equity, diversity and inclusion. Our school fully supports and embraces the LGBTQ2S+ community, and we stand against discrimination and violence across Canada and beyond.

At our schools, everyone belongs. Building inclusive communities is one of our Core Values. Hate and discrimination – including homophobia and transphobia – have no place here, and we are committed to ensuring that all individuals are valued, respected, and included.

For TFS students or YU who may be experiencing mental health struggles during this time, we urge them to take advantage of My Student Support (MySSP) – our 24/7 online/phone mental health and well-being service. Any staff or faculty who need assistance are encouraged to seek support via their TELUS Health benefits.

Cynthia Reason

Cynthia Reason (she/her) is a former newspaper journalist turned communications professional who currently works as Toronto Film School’s Manager of Communications. Prior to joining TFS, she spent 13 years working as a reporter for Torstar/Metroland Media Toronto, writing for publications including, the Etobicoke Guardian, and the Toronto Star, among others. Her byline has also appeared in the National Post. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Guelph and Post-Graduate Diploma in Journalism from Humber College.


Toronto Film School Celebrates Class of 2023 with Graduation Gala Celebration

TweetShareSharePinEmailWhatsApp “When in doubt, keep it simple.” That was just one of the pieces of advice imparted on Toronto Film School’s graduating Class of 2023 during their recent convocation ceremony – and it came from none other than Priscilla producer (and fellow TFS alum) Chris Hatcher, who acted as the ceremony’s distinguished speaker. Distinguished Speaker …Read more